Virtual Event: Laura Morelli

Sunday, November 22, 2:00 p.m.

Recording available through December 6

For fans of Anthony Doerrs All the Light We Cannot See and Kristin Hannahs The Nightingale comes The Night Portrait by Laura Morelli, an exciting dual-timeline historical novel about the creation of one of Leonardo da Vincis most famous paintings, Portrait of a Lady with an Ermine, and the woman who fought to save it from Nazi destruction during World War II. Praised by Frances Mayes as brilliantly writtenand by Stephanie Storey as a great masterpiece on its own, making you see old storiesand old artin fresh, new ways,The Night Portrait is sure to thrill history buffs and art lovers alike.  

Milan, 1492: When a 16-year old beauty becomes the mistress of the Duke of Milan, she must fight for her place in the palaceand against those who want her out. Soon, she finds herself sitting before Leonardo da Vinci, who wants to ensure his own place in the ducal palace by painting his most ambitious portrait to date. 

Munich, World War II: After an art conservator unwittingly places a priceless Italian Renaissance portrait into the hands of a high-ranking Nazi leader, she risks her life to recover it, working with an American soldier, part of the famed Monuments Men team, to get it back.  

Morelli holds a PhD in art history from Yale University and is the author of fiction and nonfiction inspired by the history of art. She has taught college students in the United Statesand Italy, and has developed lessons for TED-Ed. Her flagship shopping guidebook,Made in Italy, has led travelers off the beaten track for more than two decades. Her other award-winning historical novels includeThe Painters Apprentice,The Gondola Maker,and The Giant. To explore more resources and videos related to this book, visit lauramorelli.com/NightPortrait. 

Ticket Prices: 

Virtual ticket + paperback book with signed bookplate shipped directly to your home: $28 

Public virtual ticket: $12 

DMA Member/Educator virtual ticket: $10 

Student virtual ticket: $8