Arts & Letters Live

Arts & Letters Live is a literary and performing arts series for all ages that features award-winning authors and performers of regional, national, and international acclaim. The series is recognized for its creative multidisciplinary programming—combining literature with visual arts, music, and film—and for commissioning new work from musicians, dancers, and poets, inspired by works of art in the Museum's collection and special exhibitions. The series is celebrating its 30th season in 2021.

Book tickets online or email us at artsandletterslive@DMA.org.

Join our email list so you don't miss out!

Join our Facebook group to stay connected.

In order to receive the most current event and logistical details, we strongly encourage you to purchase Arts & Letters Live event tickets only via Etix, the DMA’s ticketing system. Tickets purchased through third party vendors are often more expensive and prevent us from guaranteeing the accuracy of seat assignments and sharing logistical information.

Love these events and want the best deal? Become a DMA Member and you’ll get up to $10 off the public ticket price (excluding certain events), free garage parking at the DMA, and discounts in the DMA Cafe and DMA Store.

To become a Season Supporter, call 214-922-1280.

Are you in a book club? Sign up to receive our DMA Arts & Letters Live newsletter for book clubs!

Upcoming Events

Format: 12/3/20

Virtual Event: Laura Morelli

Sunday, November 22, 2:00 p.m.

Recording available through December 6

For fans of Anthony Doerrs All the Light We Cannot See and Kristin Hannahs The Nightingale comes The Night Portrait by Laura Morelli, an exciting dual-timeline historical novel about the creation of one of Leonardo da Vincis most famous paintings, Portrait of a Lady with an Ermine, and the female art conservator and American soldier who fought to save it from Nazi destruction during World War II. Praised by Frances Mayes as brilliantly writtenand by Stephanie Storey as a great masterpiece on its own, making you see old storiesand old artin fresh, new ways,The Night Portrait is sure to thrill history buffs and art lovers alike. Laura Morelli holds a PhD in art history from Yale University, has taught college students and developed lessons for TED-Ed, and has written award-winning works of historical fiction inspired by art. 

details

Virtual Event: Dave Barry

Monday, December 7, 7:00 p.m.

Recording available through December 21 

Pulitzer Prize–winning Dave Barry, lauded as “the funniest man in America” by the New York Times, ponders how to enjoy his later years in his latest book, Lessons from Lucy. As Dave Barry turns 70—not happily—he begins to wonder how his rescue dog has managed to remain joyous even in her old age. Taking lessons from Lucy on how to age happily, Barry embarks on new adventures, and embraces growing, learning, and loving along the way. The master humorist has written a witty and affable guide to joyous living at any age. 

details

Virtual Event: Anthony Horowitz

Thursday, November 26, 7:00 p.m.
In conversation with Bill Young, KERA
In partnership with KERA  
Recording available through December 10
 
Anthony Horowitz returns with Moonflower Murders, a masterfully suspenseful sequel to the worldwide bestseller Magpie Murders, featuring his famous literary detective Atticus Pünd and Susan Ryeland, now retired from her publishing career and running a small hotel on a Greek island. When Susan learns from guests that their daughter has gone missing after trying to prove the innocence of a man convicted of murder, she knows that she must return to England to investigate. 

New York Times–bestselling author Anthony Horowitz has written more than 40 books, including Trigger Mortis, a new James Bond novel commissioned by the Ian Fleming Estate, and Moriarty, a Sherlock Holmes novel. His Alex Rider series for young adults has sold more than 19 million copies worldwide. As a TV screenwriter, he created bothMidsomer Murdersand the BAFTA-winningFoyles Waron PBS. In 2014 he was awarded an OBE for his services to literature. Time magazine has called his work “catnip for classic mystery lovers.”  

details

Rescheduled Virtual Event: Colum McCann

Tuesday, January 12, 2021, 7:00 p.m.
In conversation with Rabbi David Stern
Recording available through January 26
 
National Book Award winner Colum McCann’s most ambitious work to date, Apeirogon is a tour de force concerning friendship, love, loss, and belonging. Bassam Aramin is Palestinian. Rami Elhanan is Israeli. They inhabit a world of conflict that colors every aspect of their lives. Their worlds shift irreparably after their young daughters are killed—Abir by a rubber bullet and Smadar the victim of suicide bombers. When Bassam and Rami learn of each other’s stories, they recognize the loss that connects them and attempt to use their grief as a weapon for peace.

 

 
details

Rescheduled Virtual Event: A Moveable Feast Book Club: Apeirogon

Tuesday, February 16, 11:45 a.m.

 Join other book lovers for stimulating lunchtime conversation about Colum McCann’s latest work, Apeirogon, an epic novel rooted in a real-life friendship borne of loss. Two fathers, one Palestinian and one Israeli, connect through shared grief that they marshal into a weapon for peace. Crossing centuries and continents through art, history, and politics, it is a tale both heartbreaking and hopeful. The group discussion will be facilitated by Rabbi David Stern, Senior Rabbi of Temple Emanu-El in Dallas, and Imam Dr. Omar Suleiman, an American Muslim scholar and theologically driven activist for human rights. Author Colum McCann will make a brief guest appearance. 

details

Virtual Event: Lily King and Chang-rae Lee

Wednesday, February 24, 2021, 7:00 p.m.

Recording available until March 10

Lily King’s Writers & Lovers follows Casey—a smart and achingly vulnerable protagonist—in the last days of a long youth, a time when every element of her life comes to a crisis. Casey’s fight to fulfill her creative ambitions is challenged in ways that push her to the brink. Chang-rae Lee’s My Year Abroad tells an exuberant and entertaining story about a young American life transformed by an unusual Asian adventure—and about the human capacities for pleasure, pain, and connection.    

“Who is a greater novelist than Chang-rae Lee today?”—The Los Angeles Times 

“Writers & Lovers is exactly the book we need now. Witty and heartfelt. . . . I could not stop reading.”—Judy Blume 

details

Rescheduled: David Sedaris

Monday, May 17, 2021, 7:30 p.m.
Location: McFarlin Auditorium, Southern Methodist University
All purchased tickets have been transferred to the rescheduled date.
In partnership with KERA
 

One of America’s pre-eminent humor writers, David Sedaris returns to Dallas for the eleventh consecutive year to read new and unpublished material. He is the master of satire and one of today’s most observant writers addressing the human condition. Beloved for his personal essays and short stories, Sedaris is the author of Me Talk Pretty One DayLet’s Explore Diabetes with Owls and Theft By Finding: Diaries (1977-2002), among many others. Calypso, his latest collection of essays, is a New York Times bestseller. Sedaris’s original audio pieces can often be heard on the public radio show This American Life.

 
 
 
 
details

Rescheduled: Yotam Ottolenghi

Monday, October 4, 2021, 7:30 p.m.

Location: Eisemann Center, Hill Performance Hall 

In conversation with Chad Houser, Cafe Momentum Founder/CEO/Executive Chef 

For renowned chef and New York Times bestselling cookbook author Yotam Ottolenghi, food is about more than what we eat. It is about joy, pleasure, and surprise. It is about a sense of place, home, and community. In his latest cookbook, Flavor, this international culinary influencer reveals how flavor is created and amplified through more than 100 innovative, delicious plant-based recipes; he also oversees the photography himself. His revolutionary approach to vegetable cooking showcases low-effort, high-impact dishes designed for the relaxed cook. Based in London, Ottolenghi spends much of his time creating and testing recipes for his weekly column in the Guardian and his monthly column in the New York Times. Six London restaurants, nine bestselling cookbooks, and millions of devotees of the “Ottolenghi effect” have transformed the Israeli-British chef into the leader of a culinary juggernaut. 

details