Young Masters Juried Exhibition to Open at the DMA


Thirty-eight Advanced Placement Studio Art Students from 10 area high schools will participate in the Dallas Museum of Art Young Masters Juried Exhibition.


Friday, January 27

Young Masters Juried Exhibition opens including two -and three-dimensional works of art.

Tuesday, February 7

A reception and a subsequent ceremony will announce the Best of Show, 1st Place, 2nd Place, 3rd Place and Honorable Mentions. Awards will be presented to students.
1. p.m. Reception in the Fina Foundation Gallery
2. p.m. Awards presentation in the Horchow Auditorium
3. p.m. The award status of each winning work will be notated on its label in the Exhibition

The Dallas Museum of Art Young Masters Juried Exhibition is sponsored by Advanced Placement Strategies™, Inc., and the O’Donnell Foundation. The Exhibition comprises 38 works of art created during 2005 by the above-mentioned Advanced Placement Studio Art Students and is on display until March 26, 2006.


Fina Foundation Gallery at the Dallas Museum of Art, l7l7 North Harwood in the Downtown Arts District. The award status of each winning work will be notated on its label following the announcement event on February 7 and for the remainder of the exhibit, which will be up until March 26, 2006.


Eighteen AP Studio Art teachers from area schools that are part of a new, five-year

incentive program, “Creating Schools of Excellence in the Arts” (sponsored by Advanced Placement Strategies, Inc.) were invited to submit up to one work of art per student from their AP Studio Art students for this exhibition. A select panel of judges deliberated for hours over 260 works of art to choose the 38 pieces that are exhibited.

The art created by these AP students is extraordinary in part because the outstanding teachers provide a college level curriculum. Last year, the total Arts (Studio Art, Art History, and Music Theory) scholarships awarded to AP Arts students in eleven area schools for the academic year ending May 2005 was $6,260,161. Many AP Studio Art students received college credit resulting from the portfolios that they submitted for evaluation by the College Board.

The DMA Young Masters Exhibitions began in l994 with the start of the O’Donnell Foundation AP Studio Art Incentive Program, a program that provided financial incentives to both students and teachers.


The following schools are represented in this exhibit. The students who created the works of art included in the exhibition are listed under each high school. All schools are within the area Independent School Districts listed except for one private school in Dallas.


Creekview High School 

Monessa Bacon

Bret Bauer

Emily Hsu

Shue Kwon

Mintu Varghese

Newman Smith High School

Magdalena Corral

Taranvir Deol

Micaela Moen

Jeremy Taylor

Christian Von Schleicher


Colleyville Heritage High School

Krystal Agu

Jim Lusk

Erin Schwarzbach

Sydney Spann

Steven Vaughan

Grapevine High School

Heather Bates


Coppell High School

Cho Hyeon Bin

Allie Jordan

Mai Le


Booker T. Washington HSPVA

Jackson Armstrong

Luis Baez

Alex Barron

Kate DePetris

Gustavo Galvan

Geovanne Garcia

Luis Huerta

Teryn Loebs

Sydney McCaslin

Susan Nguyen

Liza Pflughoft

Gina Sandlin

Bryan Adams High School

Marissa Trevino


Centennial High School

Melissa Morganti


Poteet High School

Samantha Roppolo


Episcopal School of Dallas

Anna Finley

Will Jopling

Kate Kennard

Kai’li Taylor


The Museum is located just south of Woodall Rodgers Freeway with driveways on both Harwood and St. Paul providing access to the underground parking garage. Parking is free for members and $5 for non-members.

The Museum is open from 11 a.m. to 5 p.m. Tuesday through Sunday and from 11 a.m. to 9 p.m. on Thursday. The Museum is closed Mondays.

Admission, which includes general admission to the museum, is $10 for adults, $7 for senior citizens, and $5 for students with current school identification. Museum members and children under 12 are free.

Admission is free to all on Thursdays from 5 p.m. to 9 p.m. and the first Tuesday of the month. For more information, visit or call 214-922-1200.