DMA Announces New Officers, Trustees, and Director

Walter B. Elcock Elected Chairman and John Eagle to Become President Marguerite S. Hoffman Retires from Chairmanship John R. Lane Named Director Emeritus

Dallas, TX, May 29, 2008 - The Dallas Museum of Art is pleased to announce that Walter B. Elcock has been elected chairman of the Museum’s Board of Trustees, succeeding Marguerite S. Hoffman, who has served in the role for the past four years.  John Eagle has been elected the new president of the Board of Trustees, succeeding Mr. Elcock in this role. Deedie Rose served as chair of the Officers Nominating Committee.

Additionally, the Board of Trustees honored John R. Lane upon his retirement by naming him Director Emeritus. After 35 years of service in directors’ offices in museums across the country, including nearly a decade of visionary leadership at the Dallas Museum of Art, Dr. Lane steps down on May 31 from his post as The Eugene McDermott Director.

Walter B. Elcock joined the DMA Board of Trustees in 2002 and has served as its president since 2004. He is the Global Consumer & Small Business Banking Community Division Executive for Bank of America. He also serves as president of Bank of America Texas. In 2005, Bank of America became the National Presenting Sponsor of the national tour of Matisse: Painter as Sculptor, an exhibition co-organized by the Dallas Museum of Art, the Nasher Sculpture Center, and the Baltimore Museum of Art, with venues in Dallas, Baltimore, and San Francisco. It was the Bank’s first-ever multiple-city national sponsorship of an art exhibition. In this past year the Bank has been the national tour sponsor of J.M.W. Turner, organized by the Dallas Museum of Art, the National Gallery of Art, Washington, DC, and The Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York.

Marguerite Hoffman departs as chair of the DMA Board of Trustees after four years in that office. She has served as a trustee since 1999 and, with her late husband Robert, chaired the Museum’s Centennial Campaign from 2000 to 2004. “As Chairman of the Board, Marguerite Hoffman has led by example, always cognizant of the Museum’s greatest need, the highest use, and the right course, and she continually demonstrates in a myriad of ways the depth of her commitment to this institution,” said Mr. Elcock. “While for many years the Museum enjoyed the shining example of partnership and philanthropy set by Marguerite and Robert, Marguerite’s own brilliant guidance has continued to drive the museum forward in its pursuit of excellence. We among the Dallas Museum of Art family are indebted to Marguerite for her generous and loving spirit, great values, and informed stewardship.”

John Eagle is President and CEO of John Eagle Dealerships, a Dallas automobile-dealership group founded in 1962 by his father. Since his election to the Museum’s Board of Trustees in 2004, where he has served as its Vice President since 2007, Mr. Eagle has chaired both its Marketing Committee and the Special Committee for Tutankhamun and the Golden Age of the Pharaohs, an exhibition of treasures from King Tut’s tomb that is expected to attract more than a million visitors to Dallas. Most recently, he and his wife Jennifer co-chaired, with Robert Dedman and his wife Rachael, the Museum’s Campaign for a New Century’s Catalyst Club, a group of donors that gave $1 million or more to the Center for Creative Connections initiative.

During his tenure at the Dallas Museum of Art, John R. Lane has invigorated the DMA’s exhibition program, mobilized the collecting community, and overseen the rapid growth of the Museum’s contemporary holdings, while raising more than $150 million in funds for endowment, capital improvements, and program advancement. Thanks to his dynamic leadership, the DMA has developed into one of the country’s leading encyclopedic institutions with strong national and international presence. At its May 22 meeting, the Board recognized him for “his extraordinary tenure, which transformed the Museum with his visionary and informed leadership, permitting the DMA to assume a higher profile within the American art museum world and provide wondrous cultural enrichment to North Texas.”

Deputy Director Bonnie Pitman, who was unanimously selected by the Board as Lane’s successor in May 2007, will assume her role as the Museum’s Eugene McDermott Director as of June 1, 2008.

The following sixteen individuals were nominated and elected to serve as Trustees for a three-year term at the 2008 Annual Membership Meeting. The Trustee Nominating Committee was chaired by Cindy Rachofsky:

Victor D. Almeida, Molly Byrne, Tim Byrne, James F. Crank, Robert H. Dedman, Jr., Beverly Freeman, Ann Hobson, Margaret H. Jordan, Lucilo A. Peña, Caren Prothro, Kelli Questrom, Curtis E. Ransom, Francoise Reynaud Rodriguez, Peggy Sewell, Jan Showers, and Gayle Stoffel.

Those members who, with the Museum’s great thanks for their service, completed their elected terms at the final Board Meeting of the season include:

Kim Askew, Martin Cox, Claire Dewar, Nash Flores, Ken Hersh, Brenda Jackson, Susan Kaminski, and Eddie Lee

About the Dallas Museum of Art
The Dallas Museum of Art, established in 1903, has an encyclopedic collection of more than 25,000 works, spanning 5,000 years of history and representing all media, with renowned strengths in the arts of Africa, Indonesia, the ancient Americas and South Asia; European and American painting, sculpture and decorative arts; and American and international contemporary art. The Dallas Museum of Art is the anchor of the Dallas Arts District and, in all its vitality, serves as a cultural magnet for the city with diverse programming ranging from exhibitions and lectures to concerts, literary readings, dramatic and dance presentations, and a full spectrum of programs designed to engage people of all ages with the power and excitement of art.

The Dallas Museum of Art is supported in part by the generosity of Museum members and donors and by the citizens of Dallas through the City of Dallas/Office of Cultural Affairs and the Texas Commission on the Arts.