Dallas Museum of Art Announces New Officers and Trustees

 -- Bill Lamont Succeeds Melissa Foster Fetter as Chairman --

Dallas, TX—June 1, 2018— In elections held recently by the Board of Trustees of the Dallas Museum of Art, William (Bill) M. Lamont, Jr. was named Chairman. Mr. Lamont has been a member of the Budget and Finance Committee since 2004, Chair of the Investment Committee for two years, and Chair of the Budget and Finance Committee for three years. Mr. Lamont and his wife, Mary Noel, have been active longtime supporters of the Museum as well as of Art Ball and Silver Supper. They have supported the construction of the Conservation Studio and were underwriters for the Ellsworth Kelly in Dallas exhibition catalogue. Of particular significance is their named quadrant gallery on the Museum’s first floor off the Barrel Vault.

Mr. Lamont succeeds Melissa Foster Fetter, who was named Chairman in 2015. Mrs. Fetter joined the DMA Board in 2006, and her many contributions include serving as Chair of the Development Committee, Chair of Art Ball, and Co-Chair of the Islamic Cultural Initiative, in addition to membership on the Executive, Collections, and Learning and Engagement committees. She and her husband, Trevor, have generously supported the DMA since 2005, when they moved to Dallas.

Catherine Marcus Rose continues in her role as President of the Dallas Museum of Art. “The future of our Museum is brighter because of Melissa’s intelligent guidance and enthusiastic commitment as Chairman of the Board,” said Mrs. Rose. “The Board of Trustees and Museum leadership are deeply grateful for her focused dedication and excellent stewardship.”

A. Shonn Brown will continue in her role as Vice President, and Susan Byrne Montgomery will continue in her role as Treasurer. Peggy Sewell has been named Secretary of the Board. Mrs. Sewell has been a member of the Board since 2008, with dedicated service on the Budget & Finance, Development, Executive, and Marketing committees. She has previously served as Vice President of the Board.

The Officers Nominating Committee was chaired by Walter B. Elcock and included A. Shonn Brown, J. Patrick Collins, Melissa Foster Fetter, Xuan-Thao Nguyen, Lucilo Peña, Cindy Rachofsky, and Catherine Marcus Rose.

The following seven individuals were nominated and elected to serve as trustees for a three-year term: Tim Byrne, John R. Eagle, Carol Levy, Deedie P. Rose, Adrian Sada, Carrie Tharp, and Sharon Young. The Committee on Trustees was chaired by A. Shonn Brown.

In addition, the Museum announced the return of trustees Elaine Agather, Victor Almeida, Niels Anderskouv, Barbara Durham, Tom Fagadau, Lucilo Peña, Kelli Questrom, Carolyn Rathjen, and Gayle Stoffel to a second three-year term on its Board.

These seven individuals were also elected to serve as representative trustees for a one-year term:
Mary Cook, Eugene and Margaret McDermott Art Fund; Sarah Jo Hardin, DMA League; George T. Lee, Jr., Foundation for the Arts; Cindy Rachofsky, TWO x TWO for AIDS and Art; Amanda Shufeldt, Art Ball Co-Chair; Robert W. Ivey III, The Forum; and Kelly Moore, Junior Associates.

Those members who, with the Museum’s great thanks for their service, completed their elected terms at the final Board Meeting of the season include:

Sheryl Adkins-Green, Steve Becker, Nancy Carlson, Beverly Freeman, Jim Gold, and Xuan-Thao Nguyen; Nancy Cates, DMA League President; Ray Ballotta, DMA Forum Co-Chair; Harry McClish, DMA Junior Associates Chair; Rebecca Fletcher, Art Ball Chair.

As part of the proceedings, a formal resolution in remembrance of Margaret McDermott, the single largest benefactor in DMA history, was approved at the May 24, 2018, final Board Meeting of this season.

About the Dallas Museum of Art

Established in 1903, the Dallas Museum of Art (DMA) is among the 10 largest art museums in the country and is distinguished by its commitment to research, innovation, and public engagement. At the heart of the Museum and its programs is its global collection, which encompasses more than 24,000 works and spans 5,000 years of history, representing a full range of world cultures. Located in the nation’s largest arts district, the Museum acts as a catalyst for community creativity, engaging people of all ages and backgrounds with a diverse spectrum of programming, from exhibitions and lectures to concerts, literary events, and dramatic and dance presentations. Since the Museum’s return to free general admission in 2013, the DMA has welcomed more than 3.2 million visitors. For more information, visit DMA.org.

The Dallas Museum of Art is supported, in part, by the generosity of DMA Members and donors, the citizens of Dallas through the City of Dallas Office of Cultural Affairs, and the Texas Commission on the Arts.


For more information, please contact:

Jill Bernstein