Dallas Museum of Art Announces Board of Trustees for 2021–2022

Nine New Members Join the Board, Demonstrating Global Perspective, Broad Expertise

Dallas, TX—August 5, 2021—In elections recently held by the Board of Trustees of the Dallas Museum of Art, the Board approved the 2021–2022 Board of Trustees, including nine new members representing international leadership experience and distinction in business, technology, building and design, and creative industries. Chaired by Catherine Marcus Rose, the Officers Nominating Committee announced that William M. Lamont, Jr. remains Chairman of the Board, serving in his final year of a two-year term. Catherine Marcus Rose and Peggy Sewell will continue their roles as President and Secretary, respectively. Trustees Gowri Sharma and Jun Il Kwun were unanimously elected to serve as Vice President and Treasurer of the Board, respectively. Ms. Sharma succeeds Victor Almeida and Mr.  Kwun succeeds Adrian Sada in those roles.

The Committee on Trustees & Governance, chaired in 2020–2021 by Sophia Johnson, unanimously nominated and elected, and the Board of Trustees approved, the following nine individuals to serve as trustees for a three-year term: Gonzalo Bueno, architect and interior designer and Co-Founder of Ten Plus Three and Treceavo Plano; Lucy Burns , Partner at Billingsley Company; Jennifer Chandler, Managing Director, Bank of America Dallas Market President, and Market Executive for Bank of America Private Bank, ; Gela Gallardo, CEO and owner of Les Calans winery and partner with Moët Hennessy; Robert Hallam, Jr., President and COO  of Ben E. Keith Company; Fern Johnson, CTO Vice President – Global Infrastructure & Operations at PepsiCo; Aasem Khalil, Partner at Goldman Sachs and Co-Head of Latin America, Head of Southern Region Investment Banking; Arthur Primas, talent manager and owner of the Arthur Primas Collection of African American Art; and Manjusha Shankaradas, Vice President, Test Technology Group at Texas Instruments.

These seven individuals were elected to serve as representative trustees for a one-year term: Jan Clay, DMA League; George T. Lee, Jr., Foundation for the Arts; Mary McDermott Cook, The Eugene and Margaret McDermott Art Fund; Brian Bolke, Art Ball; Cindy Rachofsky, TWO x TWO for AIDS and Art; Flauren Bender and Louise Marsh , DMA Family Forum; and Brent English, DMA Junior Associates. Ex-officio trustees include Alexandra Bacalao, Junior League Dallas, and Phillip Collins, City of Dallas Office of Arts and Culture Commissioner.

In addition, the Museum announced the election of the following trustees to a second three-year term: John R. Eagle, Carol Levy, Deedie Rose, Adrian Sada, and Sharon Young.

Those members who completed their elected terms at the final Board Meeting, and who have provided generous time, expertise, and passion to the Dallas Museum of Art, include Elaine Agather, Victor Almeida, Niels Anderskouv, Tim Byrne, Barbara Durham, Tom Fagadau, Lucilo Peña, Kelli Questrom, Carolyn Rathjen, and Gayle Stoffel.

“After an extended period of isolation and distance, there is a deep desire for connection and meaningful encounters. The DMA must seize this moment to bring experiences with art to the community, igniting creativity and exchange. The Board of Trustees recognizes their crucial role in the stewardship and leadership of the Museum, working closely with its staff, volunteers, and community voices to represent the diverse city the Museum serves and be connected to the vibrant region around it,” said Board President Catherine Marcus Rose.

On May 20, 2021, the DMA Board of Trustees unanimously approved a new five-year strategic plan with the commitment to achieve the vision of a 21st-century museum that places art at the center, equity and community at the core. With the participation of the trustees, staff, and community members, the plan took shape amid the widespread disruption surrounding the COVID-19 pandemic and elevated international dialogue on racial justice and the legacy of colonialism of museums around the world. These events provided insight and were of critical value in its formation and reinforced the DMA’s long-term trajectory. To maintain relevance and inspire new audiences and to connect positively and authentically with communities, the Board determined that the DMA must challenge long-standing processes and narratives that are based in museum practices from a century ago. This strategic plan, which calls for a continuation of free general admission and ongoing support from the City of Dallas, charts a path to transform the Museum over the next five years into an institution for the 21st century—a DMA as ambitious and vibrant as the city it serves.

A full list of the 2021–2022 Board of Trustees can be found HERE.

About the Dallas Museum of Art 
Established in 1903, the Dallas Museum of Art (DMA) is among the 10 largest art museums in the country. With a free general admission policy and community outreach efforts, the DMA is distinguished by its commitment to research, innovation, and public engagement. At the heart of the Museum and its programs is its global collection, which encompasses 25,000 works and spans 5,000 years of history, representing a full range of world cultures. Located in the nation’s largest arts district, the Museum acts as a catalyst for community creativity, engaging people of all ages and backgrounds with a diverse spectrum of programming, from exhibitions and lectures to concerts, literary events, and dramatic and dance presentations. The DMA is an Open Access institution, allowing all works believed to be in the public domain to be freely available for downloading, sharing, repurposing, and remixing without restriction. For more information, visit DMA.org

The Dallas Museum of Art is supported, in part, by the generosity of DMA Members and donors, the National Endowment for the Arts, the Texas Commission on the Arts, and the citizens of Dallas through the City of Dallas Office of Arts and Culture. 


For more information, please contact: 
Jill Bernstein, Director of Communications and Public Affairs